New Jersey Teaching License Renewal
Individual Professional Development Requirements Each teacher must complete at least 20 hours of professional development each school year (replacing previous requirement of 100 hours over 5 years).
For more information on the New Professional Development Regulations, visit this link.
Types of Certificates Available
We always recommend that you follow any pre-approval requirements in your district before you register for courses. However, many teachers have been successful using our courses to advance on their district’s salary scale—and have typically been able to use any of our university/college partners.
If you need assistance with submission of a district approval form, course mapping or timelines, we’re happy to help. Our Advisory team is here to help you succeed!
A teacher will typically earn 45 professional development hours (15 weeks x 3 hours per week) for completion of a 3-credit course.
Mandatory Professional Development (PD) requirements for particular groups of educators are specified in statute and regulation. The requirements are grouped under the following topics:
Online professional learning may be included in the annual, minimum 20-hour requirement for educator professional development if approved by the educator’s supervisor. It is the responsibility of providers to document an individual’s completion of professional learning for administrators who approve professional development activities. A sample PD certificate, located here, reflects the information that must be documented for each participant.
Above is a summary of how Learners Edge may help your continuing education and New Jersey license renewal needs. This summary should in no way release individuals from their responsibility of ensuring that the course(s) they take meets their professional needs. We hope it provides assistance in understanding how Learners Edge might help you in the accumulation of clock hours or graduate credit for salary advancement and the New Jersey license renewal process.